Professors (HAG Scale)

  • Deputy Director
    Data Mining, Web Services, Distributed Computing, Databases, Semantic Web
  • Affective Human Centered Computing, Big Data Analytics, Cognitive Hearing and Speech Science, Cloud/Edge/Fog Computing & QoS Aware Green Data Centers, IoT & Smart Building/Smart Campus/Smart City Applications, Social Multimedia/Network Analysis

Associate Professor

  • Network Security, Information Security, Malware Analysis, Computer Networks

Assistant Professors (Grade I)

  • Head of the Department
    Software Aging, Virtualization, Software Engineering, Software Architecture, Software Patterns, Requirements Engineering
  • Internet of Things, Wireless Sensor Networks, Mobile Adhoc Networks, Computer Networks
  • Convener, NITK Innovation Council (IIC) and Nodal Officer (Atal Innovation Ranking - ARIIA)
    Healthcare Analytics, Natural Language Processing, Information Retrieval, Machine Learning
  • Data Mining, Soft Computing, Applying Data Mining Techniques to Biological Data
  • Natural Language Processing, Text Analytics, Information Retrieval, Machine Learning

Assistant Professors (Grade II)

  • Wireless Sensor Networks and MANETs, Bio-inspired Computing, Blockchains
  • Future Internet and its security, Computer networks, Information Security, Android Security Issues, Internet of Things, Wireless Sensor Networks
  • Semantic Web Technologies, Machine learning, Cloud Computing

Adjunct Professors


Adhoc Faculty Members (Jul - May 2020)



Details of Project Staff


NameKarthik K

Designation:   Senior Research Fellow

Project:    DST-ECR project on "A Deep Learning based Framework for Intelligent Healthcare Applications"

Principal Investigator:    Sowmya Kamath S

Sanction No:   ECR/2017/001056

Duration:   2017 - 2020


Name of Student Category Supervisor(s) Area of Interest
Anusha R Full Time Jaidhar C. D. Image Processing, Machine Learning
Archana Bhat Full Time Geetha V. Wireless Sensor Networks, Internet of Things
Ashwin T. S. Full Time G. Ram Mohana Reddy Affective Computing, Human Computer Interaction, Internet of Things
Dinesh Naik Part Time Jaidhar C. D. Web Semantics
Gokul S Krishnan Full Time Sowmya Kamath S. Healthcare Analytics, Big Data Analytics, Natural Language Processing
Karthik K Part Time Sowmya Kamath S Information Retrieval, Healthcare Analytics, Machine Learning
Karthik N Full Time Ananthanarayana V. S. Semantic Web, Pervasive Computing
Manjunath Vanahalli Full Time Nagamma Patil Data Mining
Mummadi Swathi Full Time Bhawana Rudra Quantum Computing, Fast Computing
Nagaraj Naik Full Time Biju R Mohan Data Mining
Natesha B. V. Full Time G. Ram Mohana Reddy Cloud Computing, Fog Computing
Raghavendra K Marangappanavar M.Tech (Research) Kiran M Blockchain
Ranjit P Kolkar Full Time Geetha V Affective Computing, Internet of Things
Rashmi M Full Time G. Ram Mohana Reddy Computer Vision, Internet of Things, Deep Learning
Rathinaraja Jeyaraj Full Time Ananthanarayana V. S. Big Data Analytics, Cloud Computing, Machine Learning Algorithms
Sakthi Murugan R Part Time Ananthanarayana V. S. Semantic Web Search, Semantic Web, Information retrieval, Linked Data.
Salvi Sanket Sarang Full Time Geetha V. Internet of Things, Cloud Computing
Sanjay S Bankapur Full Time Nagamma Patil Data Mining, Machine Learning, Proteomics
Shashank Shetty Full Time Ananthanarayana V. S. Cloud Computing, Natural Language processing, Big Data Analytics
Shiva Darshan S L Full Time Jaidhar C. D. Virtualization and Computer Networks
Sujatha M Full Time Jaidhar C. D. Wireless Networks
Sunil C K Full Time Jaidhar C. D., Nagamma Patil Machine Learning and Deep Learning
Thaker Pragnesh V Full Time Biju R Mohan Deep Learning
Tulasi Gayatri Devi Part Time Nagamma Patil Web Mining, Data Mining, Machine Learning, Big Data Analytics
Veena Mayya Full Time Sowmya Kamath S. Deep Learning, GPU Programming


IT Students


B.Tech (Information Technology)

Batch 2016 - 2020  (Second year students)

Batch 2015 - 2019  (Third year students)

Batch 2014 - 2018  (Final year students)

Batch 2013 - 2017  (Graduates of 2017 batch)

Batch 2012 - 2016  (Graduates of 2016 batch)

Batch 2011 - 2015 (Graduates of 2015 batch)


M.Tech (Information Technology)

Batch 2017 -2019 (First year students)

Batch 2016 -2018 (Second year students)

Batch 2015 -2017 (Graduates of 2017 batch)

Batch 2014 - 2016 (Graduates of 2016 batch)

Batch 2013 - 2015 (Graduates of 2015 batch)

Batch 2012 - 2015 (HTTA - TEQIP II)


Ph.D (Information Technology)   

Phd Students


Contact us

Biju R Mohan

Head of the Department,
Department of Information Technology, NITK, Surathkal,
P. O. Srinivasnagar, Mangalore - 575 025
Karnataka, India.
Ph.:    +91-824-2474056
Email:  infotech[AT]nitk[DOT]ac[DOT]in

Sowmya Kamath S (Web Admin)

Connect with us

We're on Social Networks. Follow us & stay in touch.